Stacks Image 372

Ruby Morgan

Ruby Morgan has been described as "one of the outstanding pianists of the South," performing solo recitals and chamber music throughout the eastern United States and Europe. She made her orchestral debut at fifteen with the Brevard Music Center Orchestra and has since performed with orchestras such diverse works as the Bartok Concerto No. 3, Saint-Saens Concerto No. 2, Liszt Concerto No. 2, Beethoven Concerto No. 3, the “Choral” Fantasy, and the Ravel Concerto for the Left Hand.  She performed extensively as a member of the Heritage Chamber Players, with frequent broadcasts on South Carolina Public Radio.

In addition to traditional solo programs, Morgan has presented commentary-concerts of works by women composers on campuses and before groups such as the International Congress of Women in Music and the South-Atlantic College Music Society.  While dealing with the frustrations of focal dystonia in her right hand, she has presented numerous programs of music for the left hand alone, including recitals for the Musica de Camera Series at Spoleto USA, the St. Andrew Musical Society and the Music @ Ascension Series in New York City, as well as presentations at the National Meeting of the College Music Society, the New York Piano Teachers’ Congress, the SCMTA State Conference, and the MTNA National Conference in Austin.  

Morgan serves as Professor of Piano at Furman University and has had students as winners in both state and national competitions.  She also has served as adjudicator for various levels of competitions as well as lecturer for workshops on piano playing.  For eight summers she was a member of the Artist-Faculty of the Brevard Music Center and later assisted at the Taubman Piano Institute at Amherst and Williams Colleges.  

Morgan holds a doctorate in piano performance from Florida State University, with further study at the Juilliard School (Professional Studies Program), the Mozarteum in Salzburg, and the Aspen Music School.  Her undergraduate degree is from Winthrop University, where she received the Sylvan Award as the outstanding magna cum laude graduate.  She received her master’s degree at Florida State University as a recipient of a full graduate fellowship from Phi Kappa Phi National Honor Society.  Her teachers have included Jack Tait, Edward Kilenyi, Lilian Kallir, Martin Canin, and Edna Golandsky


Nocturne in D flat, Op. 9, No. 2 Alexander Scriabin (1872-1915)
Soliloquy (1969) Ruth Shaw Wylie (1916-1989)

Gavotte en Rondo (from Violin/Lute Partita in E major) Bach-Joseffy-Morgan
Six Etudes, Op.135 Camille Saint-Saens  Bourree (1835-1921)

Liebestod [from
Tristan and Isolde] Wagner- Liszt

Suite (1926) Erwin Schulhoff
Zingara (1894-1942)
Finale: Allegro maestoso

Du bist die ruh Schubert-Liszt-Wittgenstein
The Man I Love Gershwin-Wild